Elon Musk-owned X, formerly Twitter, is shutting down its Circle feature, which allowed users to share posts with a select group. The social network mimicked Instagram’s “Close Friends” feature.
Users can no longer add people to their circle after October 31, according to the company.
X will deprecate Circles on October 31, 2023. After this date, you cannot create Circle-only posts or add people to your Circle. You can unfollow people from your Circle as described below, X said on its support page.
Circle posts will remain accessible after the deadline.
Twitter launched Circle in August 2022 after months of beta testing. The company allowed 150 Circle members. Users could only create one Circle.
Users noticed that their Circle posts were not labeled with a green flag earlier this year, thinking they went out to all their followers. Despite this scare, users reported seeing some of their Circle posts on others’ For You algorithmic timelines in April. The company declared this bug a “security incident” in May, warning that “users outside of your Twitter Circle” could view Circle posts.